Dedicated To…

We all have people in our life that influence it, the ones that have such a profound and lasting impact. We don’t always get to acknowledge and appreciate them so I am using this as an outlet to let the people in my life know how much them mean to me and how I and other people see them.

The first person I wanted to talk about is Levi Valvo. I have had the pleasure of only knowing Levi for 6 months now and our friendship started out as a gym – client thing and then evolved into a friendship. Levi is the kind of person that everyone likes, almost instantly. He is funny and smart, has a loud personality and as much as he is easy to muck around with, and make fun of, he is actually one of the most genuine guys I have ever met.

A firefighter, a personal trainer, he works hard in the community. This afternoon we were driving to the shops and there was a car accident in front of us. Immediately he jumped out of the car and started helping pushing the cars out of the way and making sure everyone was ok. Meanwhile I was waiting impatiently in the car because the shops were going to close soon and I wanted a drink. This is just the kind of person he is, and is someone who I aspire to become.

We is always up for a joke and a laugh and I must admit that a lot of my jokes are at his expense, but he always takes it in his stride and throws it right back at me. As much as we joke around, I always hope that he knows that I am not in the least bit serious. We always have a great laugh and it is only recently that I discovered that other people think the same as I do.

A party, a few strangers, a few friends laughing, having fun and as I was sitting down taking the lid off my next drink I overheard them saying how funny and great he is and that he was the kind of person that everyone likes.

Levi is someone who has given me advice about people and situations in my life and has never steered me wrong. He understands me better than I think he does and find my usual tricks and avoidances are no longer working on him and he can see right through me. I can delete burpees sneakily from workout plans, “accidentally” throw protein shake on him and then cover him in water to “wash it off” and yet he still manages to show up to training and still be nice to me.

As much as we all like to joke and laugh around, more often than not at his expense, he is one of the most caring and inspiring people I have ever met. He goes out of his way to make everyone feel included and has never made me feel like I was an idiot (although at times I am 100% sure it was true!) He believed in me, even when I never believed in myself and for several weeks of the challenge was the reason that I am still here. I am so thankful you are who you are and the role you play in my life. I know we have a lot of fun busting each other up, but I hope you realise just how much of a great friend you are, not only to me but the people and community around you.

I hope this post has inspired you to start spreading the good words about your friends and the impact they have on your life. The internet is so full of negative stuff, let’s try and combat it with some positive stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

