Top 10 Albums of 2013

So this is completely un-related to weight loss and that sort of thing but this is what I wanted to post this week. Anyone who knows me personally knows I love some really REALLY weird music, like nothing a 30 year old man should…but that being said I will forge forward with my top 10 albums of 2013 (this was a REALLY hard list to come up with!) 

1) Artpop – Lady GaGa – In recent years I had turned on GaGa, believing that the hype that surrounded her and her massive ego was ridiculous and she was getting too big for her own boots. After hearing ArtPop and just how incredibly eclectic and personal this album was, I found myself listening to this album over and over again, and this has remained in my CD player in my car everyday and while other pop albums have come and gone, I ALWAYS find myself coming back to Artpop. 

2) Beyonce – Beyonce. She went and done it! Proved that marketing and promotion means nothing to get a number 1 album, no single, no hype, not even a release date, Beyonce wiped out the top 40 mentality and delivered the next evolution of rnb and got up close and personal proving that she is the queen! 

3) Random Access Memories – Daft Punk. I hadn’t heard much Daft Punk in recent years but teaming up with Pharrell Williams paid off with some amazing dance tracks and an eclectic album that has found itself on all my playlists over and over again. 

4) The 20/20 Experience – Justin Timberlake – Deciding to release two albums in one year is ambitious, and I put this in a similar category as Beyonce, JT came back into the music industry, ignoring current trends and doing what he loves and it pays off. While it doesn’t have any top 40 mainstream hits, the album is packed with substance. 

5) Matangi – MIA – MIA is such an amazingly talented rapper it is hard to find fault with her incredibly flawless career. Once again she mixes genres and fuses sounds together to produce one of the hottest albums of 2013. 

6) The Great Gatsby Soundtrack – Baz Luhrmann is one of the greatest film makers and part of his role is finding a soundtrack to match. The film succeeded in blending the old and new and so did the soundtrack. Young & Beautiful from Lana Del Ray is definitely the highlight.

7) Songversation – India Arie – India Arie is one of the most soulful and talented artists of our time and she always delivers a thought provoking and smooth sounding album and after a couple of years hiatus she is back and bigger than ever.

8) Ciara- Ciara – The first album from a new label and Ciara finally went back to her rnb roots and delivered a classic rnb album. Hopefully this will see Ciara stick with this kind of sound and evolve rnb music in the future.

9) Avril Lavinge – Avril Lavigne – If you had told me at the start of the year I would be putting this on my best of list, I would have laughed at you. Avril surprised me by releasing an eclectic and pop themed album that saw a duet with Marilyn Manson and the track “Hello Kitty”mixed with “Sippin On Sunshine” round this album off as one of her best.

10) Love And War – Tamar Braxton – Oh Tamar, rnb music is better now that you are here! Sticking with a classic rnb sound suits her voice perfectly and while she sounds a lot like her sister Toni, she has that little extra sass and sexiness that make this album so appealing. 

It has been a fantastic year for music in 2013 and while these albums are still in high rotation, I can’t wait for music in 2014 and discovering the next new ïn” music trend. 

 

Leave a Reply

